Windy,
The call that Gordon made was not a rules violation. It was a judgement call. In his judgement, the pitcher did not tag the bag the first time. The rule states that the pitcher has to tag the bag. It is up to the umpire and his judgement as to whether or not the pitcher in fact did tag the bag the first time. Please don't play word games and try and turn it into a "violation of the rules" thing. It is not.
If there had been no runner, then proper two man mechanics dictate that the PU move down the first base line to look for runner lane violations/swipe tags/pulled foot. Since there was R1, the PU better be watching to runner touch second and be moving down the third base line for a possible play at 3rd. There is no way the PU should have a good angle on this play, as mechanics dictate that he should be 10-20 feet down the 3rd base line and is most likely watching something other than the play at first.
In this instance, the BU should know that the PU has other responsibilities on this play and that he won't have help. Gordon used all the information and made the right call, given the circumstances, ie. a double clutch of the bag. If he is going to look for help, it needs to be before the call is made. After that, unless he asks his partner for help, the PU should STFU.
The play is a judgement call on the BU part. The PU shouldn't be in position to help on that call in the first place, if he is doing his job correctly.
Getting the call right is fine, but not in this instance.
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates
|