Thread: Another PSK
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2004, 09:56am
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Re: Force Confusion?

Quote:
Originally posted by garobe
If R muffed kick and the kick moved under it's own force into the endzone after the muff, how could you have anything other than a touchback? If R imparted a new force and as a result of the new force the kick moved into the endzone, then you would have a safety... Muffing the kick by R does not end the kick nor does muffing automaticaly impart a force that puts the ball into the endzone. If I'm wrong sue me, or convince me, but don't hate me.

Let's hear some thoughts on a Safety during a scrimmage kick. A muff in no way changes possesion as the ball has been touched by R but not possessed.

[Edited by garobe on Sep 6th, 2004 at 11:45 PM]
REPLY: If R muffed the kick while in flight then that muff is by definition not a new force since a new force cannot be imparted to a pass, fumble, or kick in flight (NF 2-13-3). If however the kick was grounded when R muffed it, it becomes the responsibility of the covering official to judge whether the muff imparted a new force. So in the play in question, if R muffed the kick in flight, the play results in a safety by rule. K's kick is judged to be the force that put the ball into K's endzone.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote