Thread: Another PSK
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2004, 07:17am
jack015 jack015 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 140
Re: Force Confusion?

Quote:
Originally posted by garobe
If R muffed kick and the kick moved under it's own force into the endzone after the muff, how could you have anything other than a touchback? If R imparted a new force and as a result of the new force the kick moved into the endzone, then you would have a safety... Muffing the kick by R does not end the kick nor does muffing automaticaly impart a force that puts the ball into the endzone. If I'm wrong sue me, or convince me, but don't hate me.

Let's hear some thoughts on a Safety during a scrimmage kick. A muff in no way changes possesion as the ball has been touched by R but not possessed.

[Edited by garobe on Sep 6th, 2004 at 11:45 PM]
Paraphrasing from the Rule Book: Regarding kicks going into R's EZ, force is never a factor because all kicks that go into R's EZ are always TB's.

The only way there could be a safety on the play is if the ball is possesed by R (i.e. the kick ends) and then R's fumble is the force that put the ball in their own EZ and it is declared dead there in R's possesion.
Reply With Quote