Quote:
Originally posted by Red Neck Ref
When the offense lines up offsides when do you flag it? Do you flag and whistle at the snap?
|
NFHS 7-1-6
Following the ready-for-play and after the snapper has placed his hand(s) on the ball, encroachment occurs if any other player breaks the plane of the neutral zone.
This is a dead ball foul (encroachment) and the ball would not be permitted to become live.
Also see:
2004 NFHS Case Book 7.1.6 SITUATION A (Play b)
Note to Red Neck Ref:
The term
"Offsides" is not a used anywhere in the NFHS rule books nor is it used at anytime in NFHS Football.