Quote:
Originally posted by rex
What is all the fuss about? There ain't no difference in Fed or OBR on JJ's play. Now I don' know about the play talked about on McGruff's but this one sure won't be worth calling PBUC for.
With R2 and R3 only, the runners aren't forced. So with two outs it's a timing play. If R3 made it across the plate before R2 was put out then the run would score. If the BR didn't make it to first before R2 was out such is life. As R2 was put out for the third out, the half inningis over the B/R don't got to go there.
As I said the half inning is over in Fed or OBR.
You put runners on first, second and third with all the same things happening ---THAT--- would be a horse of a different color.
|
Sorry, Rex, but there IS a difference between FED and OBR on this play. That difference comes courtesy of a recent PBUC ruling that would allow a 4th non-appeal out at 1st base on the BR in such circumstances, even though the 3rd out had already been made on a timing play, in order to cancel the run! I know, I know. You can't make plays after the 3rd out except for appeals, right? WRONG under OBR, now, thanks to that PBUC ruling and an earlier interpretation covered in J/R! Like I said, I don't want to debate that in this thread, which is supposed to be about the FED rules. Please email me if you want a more in-depth explanation of the latest bizarre rulings (plural) by PBUC.
Cheers,
[Edited by Warren Willson on Mar 22nd, 2001 at 05:16 PM]