Quote:
Originally posted by xbumpire
The pop-up first touch the fielder in foul territory,Why don'y you call a foul ball.as foul ball saying"....or that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground.... "
|
The ball becomes foul as soon as it's touched. It becomes a catch when it's controlled by the fielder (before it touches the ground).
Both definitions are needed so that a ball that is (first) touched in foul territory and then lands in fair territoyr is ruled an uncaught foul ball.