View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 31, 2004, 01:03pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: One of the important points in Rut's reply is that the referee only has that discretion if a team attempts to conserve or consume time illegally. That implies that they have fouled. If a team attempts to conserve time in a legal manner (e.g. by throwing a backward pass out of bounds -- Federation only) the referee has no such discretion and must start the clock on the snap.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote