Quote:
Originally posted by KWH
Quote:
Originally posted by PiggSkin
KWH: Is there a case book play or something that you can point me to..?
The last sentence of the previously mentioned 5-3-1 is this:
The line to gain then remains fixed until the series ends and a new line to gain is established.
Following that, I don't see how we can "un-establish" the LTG, simply because a timeout was called...
Can you elaborate..?
|
Sure.
There are four "examples" of 5-3-1 in the 2004 Simplified and Illustrated Manual on pages 46, 47 & 48.
I realize these Case plays do not cover your specific example.
The intent of the rule is the only time a team can start a new series with a Line-to-Gain greater ten is when a dead-ball foul occurs during a time when all three of the below actions are happening:
a) After the ready for play,
b) While the 25 second clock is running, AND
c) Prior to the snap.
If you do not have all three of the above you shall move the chains after enforcement to make the new series 1st and 10.
If you do have all three of the above the new series may start with a Line-to-gain greater than 10.
I will keep searching for more background on this for you.
|
KWH,
what do we have in this situation. 1st and 10 for A at B 25 yd line. RFP happens, false start by A, move the ball to the 30 1st and 15, RFP again, before the 25 second clock runs out we get a time out...during the time out there is an USC on coach from A...are you telling me it it will now be 1st and 10 from the B 45?? I think that once the RFP is blown the first time, and subsequent USC should not move the LTG... The wording in 5-3-1 specifically says subsequent which to me means that once an RFP is blown, the LTG is established...the timeout does not cancel the RFP...the ball was made ready for play any penalty now does not move the line to gain.