Thread: OOB
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 08:56pm
PSU213 PSU213 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally posted by The Roamin' Umpire
You have two mostly unrelated questions there.

The ball carrier is out of bounds when he steps out, or touches something other than a player or official who is beyond the sideline plane. (NF 2-28-1)

On a dive across the sideline, the ball is placed where it crossed the sideline, unless the runner is OOB before that. (NF 4-3-3 & Casebook)
Just to clarify the last part of the response, the ball is spotted at its location when the runner crosses the plane of the sideline (4-3-3). Also, I definitely agree that the original post had two mostly unrelated questions.
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote