View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 24, 2004, 06:59pm
Ed Hickland Ed Hickland is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally posted by Bill Boos
A friend gave me this rules reference which I believe applies.

10-4-2a

The basic spot is the previous spot for fouls that occur simultanelusly with the snap. Wouldn't this rule apply here?
This needs an interpretation from NFHS.

While the book does not state in the rule in the Rule Book under "2004 Football Rules Changes" 2-16-2g "Clarification has been made that a post-scrimmage kick situation begins with the snap..."

The spirit and intent of the rule was exactly to change the situation where A has exhausted its downs and intends to kick the ball to B. However, a foul by B during the scrimmage kick down allows A to retain possession at the previous spot and could result in a new series for A.

PSK was meant to override the inequity in 10-4-2a on scrimmage kick downs.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote