Althought the situation in this thread shows a possible flaw in the rule you still have to look at the elements of the foul.
1) Is the foul by R beyond the expanded neutral zone? Yes, we have 12 R team members on the field during the play. The way the play is described leads me to believe that all 12 participated so we have an IP foul.
2) Did the foul take place during the interval between the snap and the end of the scrimmage kick that crosses the expanded neutral zone? Yes, IP occurs when you have more than 11 players on a team participating during a live ball.
3) Did the ball belong to R at the end of the play, i.e., did R possess the ball when the ball became dead? Yes, the play indicates that R possessed the ball at the end of the play.
If all three of these elements are answered yes we have a foul that is enforced under PSK enforcement rules. The foul is enforced from the basic spot. If basic spot is behind where the ball becomes dead in R's possession then it is a 15-yd penalty from the basic spot; however, if the ball becomes dead in R's possession behind the basic spot then the penalty is enforced from the succeeding spot.
See how simple that is!!!!!! (read sarcastic tongue in cheek)
|