Thread: 2 Questions
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 21, 2004, 05:35am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
Here are two questions, a Canadian ruling with a rulebook reference would be great. Thanks


1.
Team A 1.D-10 on the A3, ask to have the ball moved to the hash mark. Does team B have to agree?


2.
A kick which is blocked in an offside direction may be legally recovered by any player.
Hi J,

How are you doing? I hope this helps:

1. 4.4.5 states, "On any down on or within its own 5 yard line, Team A may position the ball away from the goal posts at the closest hash mark, or closest suitable spot to that point in case of wet ground." The B team gets no say in the matter. It is a safety issue and a good WH should ask the A team if they'd like the ball moved.

2. The only white book reference I can see is 5.3.2, "Blocked and Recovered Inbounds". A blocked kick is a live ball and anybody may recover. Points (a) and (b) in 5.3.2 identify that. If A recovers, they may through a forward pass, and passing rules still apply (IG, PI, UR/P, etc...).
Reply With Quote