View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 18, 2001, 08:27am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
I must be getting senile but I cannot find a rule reference or casebook play for the following play.

Play: A1 is dribbling parallel to a boundary line. A1 pushes the ball down to the floor and while he/she is not touching the ball steps out-of-bounds and then establishes him/herself completely inbounds before touching the ball again.

I know that this is an out-of-bounds violation. But here comes the but: Does the out-of-bounds violation occur when A1 steps out-of-bounds or when he/she touches the ball again?

I'm sans-rules book at the moment, but the violation occurs when A1 touches OOB. Try 9-OOB (it's a note / comment) -- that either has this directly, or says that it doesn't apply during an interrupted dribble.
Reply With Quote