Thread: DOUBLE FOUL????
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 15, 2004, 11:19pm
Oz Referee Oz Referee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
The ball is given to Team B for a throw-in anywhere along the endline. This is a rule change for this coming season. All double fouls will be administered by awarding the ball to the team in control at the time of the fouls. By interpretation, Team B is presumed to have control after the ball goes in the basket.

The AP arrow is no longer used in any double foul situation (personal or technical) for men's NCAA games.

Chuck:

What if A1's attempt is not successful. Remember, there was no team control when the double foul by A2 and B2 occured. I do not have a copy of my IAABO Sportorial with the NCAA changes in front of me, but it seems to me that there is going to have to be some sort of exception to the rule, when A1's attempt is not successful. I will look for my Sportorial tomorrow morning and re-read the NCAA changes.

MTD, Sr.
And this is also now the same in FIBA. IF the shot was unsuccessful, and possession had not been established, play would resume by going to the arrow.
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote