Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Does the dribble automatically end if the palm tilts skyward?
Thanks.
|
Of course not.
|
But why in NCAA, there is one particular case and the ruling:
A.R. 11. A1, while advancing the ball by dribbling, manages to keep a hand in contact with the ball until it reaches its maximum height. A1 maintains such control as the ball descends, pushing it to the playing court at the last moment; however, after six or seven bounces, A1s hands are in contact with the ball and the palm of the hand on this particular dribble is skyward. RULING: Violation. The ball has come to rest on the hand while the palm and the fingers are facing upward, so the dribble has ended. When the player continues to move or stand still and dribble, the player has committed a violation by dribbling a second time. (See Rule 9-6.)
|
Ysong, the dribble always ends when the ball has comes to rest. That's the criteria that we use, NOT the position of the hand.
|
Wow, this must be one of my historical misconceptions. Thanks JR.
Then my next confusion is what exactly "come to rest on the hand" means? I believe every push even in a perfect dribble creates a moment that hand and ball cease to move relative to each other. also when you do a legal cross over, the ball usually sticks to the hand for almost the entire length of the move. on the other hand, in the above case, even when the hand "tilts" skyward (not level and skyward), the ball still has the tendency to roll downward, and the period that the ball stop moving (relative to the hand) is not necessarily longer than that in a legal cross over, but why this one is considered "rest on the hand", while a cross over and a upward batting are not?
Thanks.