
Wed Aug 11, 2004, 02:05am
|
|
In Memoriam
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Juulie, by rule, you can't travel during a dribble. The 2nd. tap in the air, also by rule, doesn't end that particular dribble either. You can, however, commit an "illegal dribble" with that 2nd tap. That was Tony's point. It is a violation, but it ain't a "travelling" violation.
|
Exactly.
The play is not traveling.
It is an illegal dribble.
4-15-2
During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).
|
So if it is not travelling, but rather an illegal dribble, what would your signal be for the violation?
|
NFHS signal #17-- illegal dribble. The NCAA signal is the same.
|