View Single Post
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 10, 2004, 05:42pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Does the dribble automatically end if the palm tilts skyward?

Thanks.


Of course not.

But why in NCAA, there is one particular case and the ruling:
A.R. 11. A1, while advancing the ball by dribbling, manages to keep a hand in contact with the ball until it reaches its maximum height. A1 maintains such control as the ball descends, pushing it to the playing court at the last moment; however, after six or seven bounces, A1’s hands are in contact with the ball and the palm of the hand on this particular dribble is skyward. RULING: Violation. The ball has come to rest on the hand while the palm and the fingers are facing upward, so the dribble has ended. When the player continues to move or stand still and dribble, the player has committed a violation by dribbling a second time. (See Rule 9-6.)

Ysong, the dribble always ends when the ball has comes to rest. That's the criteria that we use, NOT the position of the hand.
Reply With Quote