View Single Post
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 10, 2004, 04:53pm
ysong ysong is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Does the dribble automatically end if the palm tilts skyward?

Thanks.


Of course not.

But why in NCAA, there is one particular case and the ruling:
A.R. 11. A1, while advancing the ball by dribbling, manages to keep a hand in contact with the ball until it reaches its maximum height. A1 maintains such control as the ball descends, pushing it to the playing court at the last moment; however, after six or seven bounces, A1’s hands are in contact with the ball and the palm of the hand on this particular dribble is skyward. RULING: Violation. The ball has come to rest on the hand while the palm and the fingers are facing upward, so the dribble has ended. When the player continues to move or stand still and dribble, the player has committed a violation by dribbling a second time. (See Rule 9-6.)

Thanks.


Reply With Quote