View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 06, 2004, 10:26am
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by FrankHtown
If, in your judgement, it's "controlled" then he has possession, does he not? I also was under the impression touching the ball twice before it hits the floor was a double dribble. I believe rainmaker cited the case book source of batting the ball over a defender's head, than touching it again before it hit the floor. Caveat Emptor; I am not very familiar with NCAA.
I don't think so. "Control" isn't the issue. "Player Control" as defined in the rulebook is the issue. "Holding or ddribbling the ball." In tapping the ball he can use as much control as he wants as long as he doesn't "Hold" (think volleyball.) Once he establishes Player Control the rules change a little. Now touching with or without holding becomes an issue.
Reply With Quote