Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
[/B]
|
1) You declare the bats as controlled by definition, and require a dribble. By the fourth or fifth one, there must have been a hold somewhere along the line. To bat the ball clear down the floor without it touching the floor or any other player would be physically impossible without a hold somewhere.
2) A more germane question would be what about the really tall player who dribbles up to a defender, bats the ball over the head of the defender, and then touches the ball on the backside of the defender before it hits the ground. That's only one tap, but it's a travel. You'll see it every once in a while. [/B][/QUOTE]
1) What definition allows you to declare the bats as controlled?

It's strictly a judgement call whether player control is ever obtained on any particular tap, not a "must" call after the 4th or 5th tap. And I think that it is actually physically possible to bat or tap the ball down the floor in the air without letting it come to rest too.
2)Why is that germane? The tap over the head is during a dribble. Apples and oranges- and different rules applying to the apples and oranges. If the player was just tapping on a rebound, he certainly could very legally tap the ball over an opponent's head, and then run around that opponent and continue tapping it in the air. N'est-ce pas?
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Aug 5th, 2004 at 09:54 PM]