Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
[/B]
|
NFHS rule 4-43-3 says
"After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot,(a) the pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal (b)If a player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or a try for goal". NCAA rule 4-65 is basically the same.
a) It's a travel as soon as one of the jumper's feet returned to the floor. It doesn't matter which foot.
b) Travel if both feet left the court on the first jump, as per (a) above.
c) Travel- same as (a) above.
There are no rules prohibiting travelling in the NBA that I am aware of.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Aug 5th, 2004 at 02:21 PM] [/B][/QUOTE]
Thanks Jurassic Ref for answering all of my questions, lots of them including my previous posts.
From your Quote of "NFHS rule 4-43-3 (b): If a player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or a try for goal", we can simply rule case (c) is illegal move in NFHS.
If this rule also applies to "before establishing pivote foot", we can rule case (a), (b) illegal too in NFHS.
But, the problem is, I can not find equevalant rules in NCAA. the closest resemblanse is Rule 4-65-5, but it specifically states that it is when "NEITHER foot can be pivote foot", i,e, after the 2nd count of a jump stop:
"Art. 5. After coming to a stop when neither foot can be the pivot foot:
a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the playing court, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;"
But what about the case when "EITHER" foot can be pivot foot? one can argue that in case (b), the second foot leaving the floor is the pivot foot, and before it lands, the ball is released, therefore it is a legal move. in case (a), one can assume one foot to be the pivot foot so jump and land on the other foot is not a violation either.
more interestingly, in NCAA Rule 4-65-4
"Art. 4. After coming to a stop and establishing the pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the playing court, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;
b. The pivot foot shall not be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.",
the NCAA 4-65-4(a) is identical with NFHS 4-43-3(a), but the NFHS 4-43-3(b) is totally missing. Why is the crucial difference?
Thanks.