Quote:
Originally posted by Warren Willson
Quote:
Originally posted by Bfair
I don't understand your post. Is mine in error?
Please explain.
|
Yes, yours is in error. Read OBR 6.06(c) and the attendant casebook comment. A batter making contact with the catcher on the "backswing" after striking at a pitch is interference, unless certain conditions apply in which case it is a dead ball strike. Carl was right. You were wrong. No opinion involved. Just the rules.
Cheers,
Warren
|
6.06c states:
He interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter's box or
making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play at home base. EXCEPTION: Batter is not out if any runner attempting to advance is put out, or if runner trying to score is called out for batter's interference.
Warren, I don't see in the example starting this thread how the batter hindered the catcher's play. The catcher was not attempting any play, and no runners advanced. Batter hits glove on follow through. This is not interference.
Quoted 6.06c attendant casebook comment:
If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire's judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.
Warren, I don't see how this would support batter interference in the scenerio. I would not call this batter out for interference. Would you? If so, why?
Steve Hatfield