View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 04, 2004, 04:59pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by tnelson_2000
Thank you for the replies.

In the first case, the ball hit F6's glove, then he spread his arms out to let it hit the ground. He then picked it up and threw to 2B. My feeling was that it should be a dead ball.

IRISHMAFIA, do you now concur with bluezebra? Would this be a judgement call on the umpire's part?

Terry
Yes, it is a judgment call, but I do not agree with BZ because he is wrong as far as ASA is concerned.

Merely touching the ball is completely irrelevant to the call and you would think a veteran umpire would know that by now.

Quote:
ASA POE #29 INTENTIONALLY DROPPED BALL
The ball cannot be intentionally dropped unless the fielder has actually caught and then dropped it. Merely guiding the ball to the ground should not be considered an intentionally dropped ball.
For an umpire, on of the best indicators for this play is to think of the play without the IDB in effect. If you, as the umpire, would not call the batter out based on the fielder's handling of the batted ball, than it cannot be an IDB.

The key to avoiding such a play is to have the BR actually run. If the BR isn't going to give it their all, then the offense doesn't deserve the protection.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote