View Single Post
Old Wed Mar 14, 2001, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member

Well, Mark, that was a long way to go (i.e., a lot of reading) to arrive at your point that you feel I shouldn't have spoken with the coach, even briefly, before my game. Personally, I think you're blowing this minor contact way out of proportion, and the eventual violation that was called is irrelevant to the broader issue of explaining a rule when asked. I have been reffing for 23 years now, and I could also list my resume if I was so inclined (which I'm not). Plenty of other experienced, veteran officials have also offered their opinions, many or most of which support that I handled the situation appropriately. After how many years of reffing do officials become essentially "equal" in their credibility? In other words, your 30+ years do not equate to more credibility than my (or others') 23 years, give or take.