Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by Dakota 
 
	Rule 8-5G uses the phrase "when the ball left the fielder's hand" - commonly called "time of throw."Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA ...or the ball WAS KICKED, PUSHED OR THROWN into dead ball territory."
 
 Not entered.
 |  | 
	
 Actually, if you check, I believe there are TWO 8.5.G paragraphs in the 2004 book
	Quote:
	
	
		| Rule 8-5J says "at the time the fielder entered {for a carry} or the ball was kicked {etc.} into dead ball territory." 
 I have always understood the difference here to be between when the ball left the fielder's hand (8-5G) and when the ball entered DBT (8-5J). "thrown into" means the same thing as "entered because it was thrown."  Doesn't it?
 
 The EFFECT you quote is a typo, I suspect. If you look at the 2003 book, the effect only applies to paragraphs L amd M, which were renumbered K and L for 2004.  I suspect they meant to say K-L for the effect, not I-L.
 | 
	
 I have already made a note to offer legislation to make a correction to the rule.