
Thu Jul 22, 2004, 02:45pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
Absent a ruling, I'll go with the "reinstated force" theory. The BR has to get to first, whether we interpret his presence in the batter's box as "occupying" home or not.
|
6.05
A batter is out when (j) After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base.
You are straight up making up rules. First off there is no force, so how can the force be reinstated? Read 6.05, has the BR touched first base? If he has, then the base can no longer be tagged to retire him. The rule makes no reference to if the BR retreats back past first base.
|
While I'm on your side of the argument, I can't be for this reason. This is no different than a player touching second and heading back to first base for whatever reason, which reinstates a force.
|
Have you changed you mind on this issue? You agreed with me before.
Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
I would think that, since he's touched first base, it would likely fall more under whether there was abandonment or not -- once touching first, a BR has no reason whatsoever to head back towards the plate.
|
|