Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
Absent a ruling, I'll go with the "reinstated force" theory. The BR has to get to first, whether we interpret his presence in the batter's box as "occupying" home or not.
|
6.05
A batter is out when (j) After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base.
You are straight up making up rules. First off there is no force, so how can the force be reinstated? Read 6.05, has the BR touched first base? If he has, then the base can no longer be tagged to retire him. The rule makes no reference to if the BR retreats back past first base.
|
What do I do if this comes up? I am PU and B1 singles. He touches first, but thought the ball was foul so he reterats past first. The defense throws to F3 who catches the ball and steps on the base. My partner the BU calls the BR out. The BR then walks to the dugout.
Then the offensive manager comes to me and says that it's not a force and so on. I would put the BR on first base. That is the correct thing to do, correct?
What if the manager never comes to me? I would go to the BU and tell him what happned and put the BR on first in that case also. I think I did the right thing in both cases, what do you think?
And what about calling the BR out for abandonment. I would say no since he thought he was out because of the BU's call.