I tend to agree with Rich in that it would be a case of abandonment as stated in Rule 7.08
(2) after touching first base, he leaves the baseline, obviously abandoning his effort to touch the next base; Any runner after reaching first base who leaves the baseline heading for his dugout or his position believing that there is no further play, may be declared out if the umpire judges the act of the runner to be considered abandoning his efforts to run the bases. Even though an out is called, the ball remains in play in regard to any other runner.
The only problem with the abandonment idea, if you want to get really picky, is that the rule states that the runner must leave the baseline. But if the runner believes that there is no further play, abandonment sounds like the way to go.
[QUOTE]
Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:
I would think that, since he's touched first base, it would likely fall more under whether there was abandonment or not -- once touching first, a BR has no reason whatsoever to head back towards the plate.
|