Thread: Force Play?
View Single Post
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 22, 2004, 09:52am
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Read rule 7.08 (e) ...However, if the forced runner, after touching the next base, retreats for any reason towards the base he had last occupied, the force play is reinstated, and he can again be put out if the defense tags the base to which he is forced;

Now let's say the play at first is a force. Now if the BR retreats back past first, the force would be reinstated. Do you want to change the play at first to a force and therefore making the previous statement true?


Are we certain that the "force" is not reinstated if the BR retreats toward home after touching 1B? It seems that opinion on this is divided. Of course, opinion means nothing if there has been a definitive ruling. Has there been?

If the "force" is not reinstated, perhaps this is the one instance in which the out at 1B not being technically a force makes a difference. Or does anyone know of any others? I can't think of any.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote