Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by ref20
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by brandan89
Last night at an elementary summer league game, I was lead and A1 had the ball. A2 comes up from behind her and pushes her so my reflexes blow the whistle and call a foul the say she is on the same team? What would you do in this situation?
|
Did A2's contact cause A1 to travel? If it did, you did not have an inadvertent whistle, you had traveling by A1.
MTD, Sr.
|
Am I missing something here? The whistle was for a foul (according to Brandan), as a result wouldn't the ball became dead at that point and thus you couldn't have a travel?
Seems to me that ref18's two comments "hit the nail on the head".
|
If A2's contact with A1 did not cause A1 to travel then Brandan's whistle did cause the ball to become dead and Team A gets the ball for a designated throw-in nearest the spot of the ball, due to Brandan's inadvertant whistle. But if A2 did indeed cause A1 to travel then the ball became dead when A1 traveled and Team B would get the ball for a designated throw-in nearest the spot of A1 violation.
The point is that Brandan's "inadvertant" whistle would have sounded after any possible violation by A1 and if A1 did indeed travel then that violation can be penalized.
|
Nope, the point was that Brandan's whistle sounded ON the foul and caused the ball to IMMEDIATELY become dead. It's impossible for the ball to become dead when A1 travelled because it was ALREADY dead on the inadvertant whistle for the presumed foul.
There is absolutely NO way in the world that you can have a travelling violation AFTER an inadvertant whistle is blown. Very simple rule, Mark. Rule 6-7-5- "The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when an official's whistle is blown". There are some exceptions listed to that, but travelling after a whistle sureashell isn't one of them.
|
Brandan said that he blew his whistle "on the foul." That brings up a whole new thread regarding anticipating the call and blowing one's whistle too soon. My rules books are packed for my officating trip tomorrow, but when a violation or foul occurs, the ball is dead because of the infraction, not withstanding the exceptions listed in the rules book, the sounding of the whistle does not cause the ball to become dead because the infraction caused the ball to become dead.
MTD, Sr.
|
No, the infraction which caused the whistle to sound did not occur (the foul), so we have an inadvertent whistle. This is not a legal proceeding where the prosecutor draws up a list of indictments and hopes one will stick.
Brandan, in this business the only way to improve is to make mistakes. You'll be doing yourself a huge favor if you learn now that mistakes will happen and it's your job to make things as right as possible when they do. As opposed to figuring out how you can twist the situation so that you come out looking good.
Inadvertent whistle is in the book for a reason.