View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 16, 2004, 02:30pm
WindyCityBlue WindyCityBlue is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 554
Unhappy ARRRRRGGGGGHHHHHHHHH!

Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
Windy, I think it's possible that the order may matter in some circumstance I can't wrap my brain around. Here's one that comes to mind, in the scenario you guys are discussing - 3 runners on third base.

If R3 is tagged first, he's out. I think we all agree there.

But if that happens, R2 is no longer forced to third base. So at that moment, R3 is out, and R2 is the offending baserunner - thus a tag on both runners would, by rule, cause you to call R2 out, not R1 ... even though R1 was really the screwup on this play.

If this is wrong, quote me a rule that shows me how I'm wrong.
What??? The runner on third is the biggest screw up and caused all of this because he didn't advance!

You have a base hit with all bases occupied. How is it that all runners have to move up one base? The runner on third is out for not advancing, whether he is tagged, first, next or last. The runner from first has overrun his established base, is not entitled to be there and he is out, no matter when he is tagged. The only player that can be tagged and WILL ALWAYS BE SAFE IS R2, now R3.

Reply With Quote