View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 15, 2004, 02:35am
LDUB LDUB is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Originally posted by DG
I am not convinced that the scoring rules would call this a hit. Did you read 10.06(e), or you just ignoring it?

I doubt a run scores on a fly caught by an infielder, it only makes sense to me to score a sac fly if the ball is deep enough to score on. And I don't know what that has to do with the point of this discussion. This is clearly misdirection.
Forget about 10.06(e), it is for when a runner and a fielder collide.

Now read rule 10.05
A base hit shall be scored in the following cases (e) When a fair ball which has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire. EXCEPTION: Do not score a hit when a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly

It is clearly stated in rule 10.05 that the batter is credited with a hit.
Reply With Quote