Quote:
Originally posted by mrm21711
I had this come up, runner on first 0-1 count. The pitcher balks (does not come to a set) and balk is called but play continues, pitch is a ball, and runner successfully steals second. The UIC claimed the pitch does not count for some odd reason and the count would still be 0-1 not 1-1, but I felt it does since the runner successfully stole the base, hence the delayed dead ball. Whose correct? Thanks
|
The umpire was correct. The balk is ignored only if the batter runner and all runners advance at least one base safely.