View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 10:14am
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Since the buzzer occured "at the top of the jump," if there had been no buzzer, there still would have been a chance that A1 could have released the ball on her way down to the floor.
I'm probably wrong, too.
Lotto,
I think that this part of your post is probably wrong.
The NFHS case book (4.25.2) states that a held ball results immediately when the release is prevented. Here that would mean a held ball was caused at the top of the jump, and releasing the ball on the way down wouldn't matter at all.

For NCAA the player may have to return to the floor with the ball, I'm not sure about this nuance. The language of 4-35-1 AR 28 seems to indicate that either one or both players must return to the floor holding the ball.

For those that work NCAA ball I'd be interested in what your instructors tell you about how to call this.
Nothing in the rule itself states or implies an airborne player with the ball MUST return to the floor before a held ball is called - although I will admit that in practice I've never seen an airborne player NOT return to the floor eventually , held ball or not.

The case play you referenced is there to help us distinguish between travel & held ball I believe.

As has already been said, it's a held ball if you judge it happened before the shot clock buzzer - only reset the shot clock if the defense has the arrow, otherwise put whatever time you judged elapsed between the whistle & the buzzer (no lag time). If the held ball happened after the buzzer then it's a shot clock violation, defense gets the ball with a full shot clock.
Reply With Quote