Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
However, unless both fouls are extreme, ignoring one (usually the 2nd) is the standard...even in the case when the 2nd player had LGP.
|
Camron,
This is why I didn't blow the whistle during the game. However, after going through the experience I have now changed my mind about this play. I now firmly believe that the 2nd foul should be called. I learned that it wasn't a big deal when we did it, and it is afterall the correct call.
Put me in the camp that votes not to ignore that second foul.
BTW, if the 2nd foul is a block, the play becomes a false multiple foul and each foul carries its own penalty, just like a false double, so the shooter would get FOUR shots for an unsuccessful try or the basket and TWO shots (one for each foul) if the goal was made.
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Sounds to me like this could be called a multiple foul (not false) since the fouls happened at approximately the same time. In that case, the shooter would get 2 FTs whether or not the try was successful.
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
This would NOT be a false multiple. It would be a multiple. As Lotto said, they are approximately at the same time. There is no way that the intent is to give A1 4 shots for a missed 2 point try.
The false multiple would be when B1 fouls A1 on the shot. Then, during/after the FT but before the clock starts, B2 fouls A1.
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Agree with that completely.
|
It looks like all of us are going to learn something during this thread because FOUR FTs is exactly what the NFHS wants on this play. It is stated directly in the case book.
"FALSE MULTIPLE FOUL
4.19.11 Situation: B1 fouls airborne A1 who is in the act of shooting. Before airborne shooter A1 returns to the floor, he/she is fouled by B2 who has moved into A1's landing area. The ball: (a) does; or (b) does not, enter the basket. RULING: This is a false multiple foul and each foul carries its own penalty. In (a), the goal is counted and A1 is awarded on free throw for each foul. In (b), A1 is awarded two free throws for each foul. (10-6 Pen 5a; 7)"
It's not often that JR forgets about a case book play! He's usually the one quoting them to us.