View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 06, 2004, 03:45am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB

In the NCAA game that WCB described, he said that the non-calling official was the one who signaled that the call was being changed. Well mabye the official who made the original call was the umpire, and the one who signaled the change was the Referee. Once again, the "head official" signaled the change.

I don't know all of this is a just a coincidence, but if it is not, then it might settle the argument about WCB's NCAA situtaion.

WCB has said a lot of things in this thread and the last thread that were nothing but guesses and maybes. Well, guesses and maybes can never supersede a rule. That's why WCB is wrong. The rule that I cited already also has other sections that take care of the argument above:

NCAA basketball rule 2-2-4- "One official may ASSIST another by providing additional information related to a MADE decision".

NCAA basketball rule 2-2-5- "The referee's decision shall NOT take precedence over that of the umpire(s) in calling a foul or violation"..

The referee is always the crew chief, or head official. An out-of-bounds call is a violation. Put the rules above together with the one that I already cited and you get the procedure that HAS to be followed and WAS followed:--i.e.- An official makes an out-of-bounds call. Another official comes in to provide additional information on that call. The official that made the call then may or may not change that call, dependant on what he- AND HE ONLY- wants to do. No other official, including the referee, has the right to overrule that calling official, or make that calling official change his original call. Whether the calling official or another official gave the final signal or not has got absolutely nothing to do with the procedures outlined in the rules cited. It doesn't matter because the rules have already been laid down as to the procedure that must be followed to reach that final decision.

The RULES say that one official can NEVER OVERRULE another official. That's not me saying that, or Rut saying that. It's THE RULES that are saying that!!!!!! It's that simple, whether WCB wants to believe those written NCAA rules or not. To be quite honest, for someone- anyone- to argue their own personal suppositions over plainly written rules is ludicrous.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jul 6th, 2004 at 04:48 AM]