Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
This seems like a stretch to me. It seems more like reverse-lag time than the actual rule. The rule says that if the clock doesn't stop - that's okay. Your interpretation says that if the clock does stop, end the game. Ex:
1.0 seconds - whistle
0.5 seconds - clock stops
Your decision - end game because of lag time?
|
Your example is not what happened though, is it? The whistle sounded with less than a second remaining, and the clcok didn't stop. Therefore if the clock doesn't stop, the game is over. Forget about the dopey clock that backs itself up for a moment. Such a clock is not identified as legal in the NFHS rule book.
In the original play, the official blew his whistle when a player was OOB. Immediately after he blew his whistle, the horn sounded. The off ball official ruled that the clock had less than one second on it when the whistle was blown. Therefore, the officials were not required to place anymore time back on the clock. The game is over. It's no different than any other game ending situation.
The fact that the school had some type of wacky timing device that puts time back on the clock, doesn't mean anything. Only the referee can put time back on the clock. When the horn sounded and the officials ruled there was no time left, the game was over.
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
The lag time in this case as originally stated was some undetermined amount of time plus at least the .2 seconds that the clock automatically adjusted back. The .2 seconds on the clock represented the time that the timer stopped the clock and included any reaction time on behalf of the timer. The remaining loss of time that resulted in the horn was the inability of the timing equipment to immediately stop.
|
How can you possibly make that assumption? And even if you can, as you said, "This is not envisioned or addressed in NF rules." Only the referee can make a determination that time must be put back on the clock, not the timer, or a game administrator.
Quote:
This is not envisioned or addressed in NF rules. Complicating matters, somehow the clock continues to run, but can also adjust back to where it was when the timer stopped the clock. That is how much time should have been on the clock, under NFHS or NCAA rules.
|
Based on what coach? The NF Rules make no allowance for such a clock. Therefore, when the horn sounded and the officials rules that no time was left, this game was over. There is absolutely nothing in the rulebook that supports your argument that the .2 seconds should have been put back on the clock.
Quote:
Bktballref, you asked for references. I personally believe that Mark has provided them, yet drawn the wrong conclusions as have you. But given that there are no cases addressing these wierd circumstances, we probably have to agree to disagree. Either of our positions can be supported reasonably. I really like seeing that so many individuals are on top of the rules and cases to inform this discussion. I would love to have you guys for any end-of-game situation, because you would make good, reasoned calls.
|
Thank you for the compliment but I guess we do disagree. I don't see how one could reasonably argue that time should be put back on the clock. The horn sounded, and the officials ruled that the clock was under 1 second when the whistle blew. Only the referee can have time put back on the clock. The decision here not to is clearly justified.
At least this discussion has kept the first week of the off season lively!