View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 04, 2001, 11:07pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Lets look at casebook plays from both the NFHS and NCAA for this play.

NFHS Play 5.10.1B, Comment: "Timing mistakes which may be corrected are limited to those which result from the timer's neglect to stop or start the clock as specified by the rules. The rules do not permit the referee to make allowance for normal reaction time of the time which results in a "lag" in stopping the clock. By interpretation, "lag or reaction" time is limited to one second when the official's signal is heard and/or seen clearly. One second or the "reaction' time is interpreted to have elapsed from the time the signal was made until the official glanced at the clock." The last sentence that I have quoted refers to the casebook play itself. In this play the official sees the amount of time on the clock as he/she sounds his/her whistle and and signals the clock to stop. The clock showed three seconds when the official's whistle sounded and the timer did not stop the clock and the period expired. The Ruling has the referee directing the Timer to put three seconds on the clock because he had definite knowledge of the amount of time involved.

NFHS Play 5.10.1D, specifically Situations (a) and (b) further reinforces the Comment in the previous play. In this play the official see how much time is in on the clock when he/she signaled the clock to be stopped. In Situation (a) the clock after stopping showed the same amount of time that the official saw when he/she signaled the clock to be stopped, and in Situation (b) the clock showed one second less then when the official signaled the clock to be stopped. In (a) and (b) the time on the clock is considered correct and there was no timing error. In Situations (c) and (d) the clock showed more two or more seconds elapsing after the official's signal to stop the clock. Situations (c) and (d) are timing errors and the referee will direct the timer to reset the clock to the time showing at the time on the clock when the stop clock signal was given.

Therefore, under the NFHS Rules the game at the beginning of the thread ended with the sounding of the timer's signal signalling the expiration of playing time. Just because technology enabled the clock to rewind itself has no bearing on whether time is to be put back on the clock.

NCAA R-5S-12-A10, A.R. 25: This play is is exactly like the NFHS play with the only difference being that Situations (b) is also considered a timing error and is treated the same way as Situations (c) and (d).

If this game had been played under NCAA rules the game would not be over. The Team B would get a thrown in with 0.2 seconds on the clock. Team B can only score a field goal on a tip.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote