View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 04, 2001, 05:16pm
Warren Willson Warren Willson is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 561
Re: What if there is no contact?

Quote:
Originally posted by DJWickham
If base coach intentionally blocks the basepath between third and home but bubba R3 stops before contact, is the movement of the coach sufficient "physical assistance" so that it is still interference? The coach's actions were identical and deliberate. I assumed that there also needs to be physical contact. (e.g., it's ok for a basecoach to yell "go" on a caught fly ball, but not to tap the baserunner's helmet.)
OBR 7.08(i) says that the physical assistance must be given "...by touching or holding the runner". That seems to clearly indicate physical contact is required. Like you, however, I can envisage a situation where the coach physically assists his runner to stop by forcing a change of direction, for example. Unfortunately, the rule doesn't allow that possibilty in its wording and I have seen no interpretation that extends the assistance beyond actual contact.

OTOH, if the coach leaves his box and deliberately interferes with play, then OBR 4.05 Penalty might be more appropriate.

Cheers,
Reply With Quote