View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2004, 03:50pm
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
bz
I am not talking NCAA, I am talking HS. And you can be in your stance and not immediately react to the change in direction. What I observe is that any bounce back, regardless of whether or not it creates the requisite 6 feet (assuming that B1 really is guarding A1), is generally rewarded with a dropped count. Maybe I am seeing something that nobody else does, but that is what I see from my seat on the bench and when I am in the stands.

Bounce back and get a yard of space, count is over. Not by rule, but by practical application.
Coach, read it again. I'm saying NF.

What I said, is exactly what you described. A1 moves back, not creating 6 feet, but B1 did not move with her and many officials drop the count. Not because of distance, but because they are incorrectly adding ACTIVELY guarding to the NF definition.

[Edited by blindzebra on Jun 25th, 2004 at 05:18 PM]
Reply With Quote