
Tue Jun 22, 2004, 04:50pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
The answer is completely unavailable, because it doesn't depend on your logic, my logic or anyone else's logic. It depends on the Rules Committee and what they decide. In the meantime, we have to each do the best we can with how it is called in our associations, or our local high school leagues.
|
You have never said if you would stop your count on A1 if you had a count and they turn and retreat with B1 agressively following within 6 feet, would you?
|
No, I haven't said, and I'm not going to. The whole point of this thread in the first place was to figure out what I'm supposed to do, I we definitely haven't reached that point! Why should I say what I do? It's meaningless. The question isn't what do I think, what does BZ think, what does Dan think, what does the majority of refs think, or any other opinion. The question is, what's the official, proper NF-approved way to handle it, and the answer is WE DON"T KNOW.
|
I wonder what the casebook says....
9.10.1 SITUATION C: Team A has the ball in its own frontcourt. B1 stands within 6 feet and facing A1 while A1 is holding the ball near the division line. Ruling: In five seconds this would be a violation. In the situation outlined, as soon as B1 has assumed a guarding position, both feet on the floor, facing the opponent, no other specific requirement is in effect. The amount of movement or the actual body position of the player is irrelevant.
Hmmm. The situation only puts B1 within 6ft and facing the A1 and the ruling is closely guarded and the result is a violation. It goes on to say that the body position and movement are irrelevant.
|
I used that 4 or 5 pages ago. Did not work for me, but go ahead.
|