Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
How about the other play I brought up?
A1 dribbles up the side with B1, with LGP and directly in their path, giving ground. A1 crosses the division line, a 5 second count begins. You'd have this count, right?
A1 then changes direction and moves toward the middle of the court at the top of the key. B1 slides with A1 on a parallel diagonal path and is within 6 feet. Are you continuing your count?
This is important because technically B1 is not in A1's path, unless path is also concidered between A1 and their basket, or path has no bearing on closely guarded.
|
You have obviously not been paying attention. Let's try one more time:
1. the word PATH is critical to the rule, both fed & ncaa
2. PATH is not defined in the rules
3. So we cannot assume it is used as a term of art
4. Which you obviously do by continually throwing out "yeah but whatabout" plays as opposed to providing solid rule backup for your position.
5. None of which have any bearing on how the rule is worded.
I can't think of any more direct way of saying this to you. If you find it insulting...well...you'll probably get over it eventually. This has been beaten to death more than any living or nonliving thing deserves to be.
|
Where is your rule support?
Where is the casebook play that has your play as an example?
4-10 does not have PATH in the definition, it has GUARDED.
4-23 talks about legally guarding.
Path is how you ESTABLISH it, but show me where it says it is only on a dribbler and where it says you lose it, if A1 changes direction. You can't, because it does not.
You don't want to answer my what if question, because it points out the flaw in your intrepretation of closely guarded.