Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Dan is saying the count is off ANYTIME A1 turns away from B1 and B1 is no longer in the path of the direction A1 is facing. That is ridiculous.
|
No, Dan is NOT saying that.
What I'm saying is if A1 turns & dribbles away from his defender he is not being closely guarded under the rules as written, becase the defender is no longer in his path.
As I said to Mick earlier, if A1 is holding the ball he has no established path. If he creates one it's a travel. Different sitch, different application of the rules.
|
How about the other play I brought up?
A1 dribbles up the side with B1, with LGP and directly in their path, giving ground. A1 crosses the division line, a 5 second count begins. You'd have this count, right?
A1 then changes direction and moves toward the middle of the court at the top of the key. B1 slides with A1 on a parallel diagonal path and is within 6 feet. Are you continuing your count?
This is important because technically B1 is not in A1's path, unless path is also concidered between A1 and their basket, or path has no bearing on closely guarded.