Thread: Closely Guarded
View Single Post
  #63 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2004, 04:43am
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
B1 also takes three steps forward so that he is continuously within six feet of A1 and maintains his position between A1 and the basket but is not in A1's path.

By rule, what do you do?
Dan, seems to me your situation begs the question. The real question here is whether or not B1 is in A1's path. This whole thread boils down to: Does "in the path" mean "in the direction the dribbler is moving" or does it mean "directly between the dribbler and the basket"?

That's why I worded my question so that the only thing that changed was the dribbler's direction. So (and I hope you realize that I'm not trying to be snippy), I guess I'd still like to hear your answer to my situation. If the dribbler merely backs up, do you discontinue your count?

To play fair, I'll answer your question point blank. I would continue my count, even if the defender turns his back and moves away from the basket.
Well. For being one of the few people on the planet who understand how to correctly use "beg the question" I will buy you the beverage of your choice down at the Wagon Wheel (or whatever that place is down the hill). Luckily diet coke is cheap.

Now, to anwser your question...sort of.

What I call or do not call is not relevant. Fact is the rule book states in the path. And it's not qualified by a case play. Fed or NCAA.

Quote:
http://www.cogsci.princeton.edu/cgi-...ge=1&word=path
path, track, course -- (a line or route along which something travels or moves; "the hurricane demolished houses in its path"; "the track of an animal"; "the course of the river")
Not easy for me to see how "path", without a special definition within the rules, conforms to your liberal interpretation. Kinda depends on what the definition of is is.

BTW, if A1 turns his back to B1 & dribbles away from the basket no way in hell I'm going to call 5 seconds.


How about this one.

A1 is dribbling up the sideline. B1 has established LGP and is giving ground directly in front of A1. A1 crosses the division line and B1 is within 6 feet, a count begins, correct?

A1 then changes direction and moves toward the center of the court and the top of the key. B1 slides diagonally with A1 maintaining LGP and is within 6 feet, but is no longer directly in front of A1, but is moving on a parallel path. Do you keep your count?
Reply With Quote