Called it today. Boys' varsity. Little kid, works his arm between the arms of the ball-handler, starts waving his hands about 1-1/2" from the face. At first I didn't realize what was happening, but it dawned on me, finally. After I called it, the coach was very upset. He said he ought to get a warning first. I said, there's no provision for a warning in the book. He said, after all this contact that's being no-called, it seems silly to give a technical for something so small. I said, it's not listed in the book as a contact foul, but as a technical for being unsportsmanlike. He said, he'd never heard of this before. I said, it's in your rule book, rule 10, player technicals. But he won't look it up. THey never do.
|