View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2001, 08:11pm
Warren Willson Warren Willson is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 561
Thumbs down Nope!

Quote:
Originally posted by Bfair
Secondly, I agree that F1 threw a dead ball into center if and only if an umpire called time. If not, it remains a live ball. It would have been nice if the author of the situation were to have typed "and the ump called time" during the "pause" the pitcher was taking before throwing into center. (grin) No pause, no time called.
Sorry, but this is just flat WRONG! There are TWO ways a ball can become dead:

1. By rule

2. By the umpire calling "Time"

[see OBR 5.02]

In the case in point, the ball became dead BY RULE [OBR 8.05 Penalty], and regardless of whether the umpire added a call of "Time" to announce that the ball was dead, it was certainly dead before that call.

When is a ball dead on interference? Immediately the offense is committed. The umpire's call of "Time" in such a case only announces that fact to all and sundry. It doesn't make the ball dead because it was already dead BY RULE.

Cheers,
Reply With Quote