Quote:
Originally posted by Bfair
Jim, you left out the wording of NAPBL 6.7 that says:
"The question arises as to when an umpire is to call "Time" to kill the ball after calling a balk. The following cases should help explain when a play is considered "stopped" and at what moment the umpire should call "Time" following the call of balk"
|
I most certainly did not leave it out. It's right there. You even quoted the citation in my post right there above where you said I left it out. Huh?
Quote:
The rule says don't call time until "all play has ceased". I know what that means (without question) and do not have to rely on on authoritative opinion to help me in that determination.
|
Then you are a better man than I am - - or anyone else who relies on authorities and official sources to clarify a book with almost 100 known errors.
I can only hope you reconsider this. It will your downfall as an official.
Quote:
A good official can sell it either way-------just as the rules, interpretations, opinions can obviously be taken either way.
|
No, a good official would know the proper ruling on this play. A good official doesn't "sell" wrong calls. That would be a bad official. Good officials make the right call.
No, the sources cannot be taken either way. They are quite clear. J/R, NAPBL, JEA - all of the world's foremost experts on the rules of baseball agree. Who is the lone dissenter? Steve "Bfair" Freix.
I'll go with the experts, if you don't mind.
By the way, Steve, in all seriousness, with no offense intended, do you
ever admit you're wrong?
I'll bet that when you were a kid, you were the type who was denying he ate the cake, even with chocolate all over his face and hands. Now weren't you?