Pretty straight forward - right from NAPBL
Wow. I wasn't expecting this kind of a discussion.
The answer on this play is, "That's a Balk! Time! That's a Balk! You! Second base!"
Reference the NAPBL passage quoted above.
The pitcher did not throw. The action was not continuous. The play didn't throw Carl, although it caught up some other fine umpires.
I posted this play, cause it threw quite a bit of people at the meeting. They focused on the protection of the runner on the wild throw into the next base and the fact that the runner was in jeopardy going into third.
A good discussion, except the pitcher threw a dead ball into center field. A valid discussion if the pitcher had balked and thrown it away without pausing/feinting.
Rich
[Edited by Rich Fronheiser on Mar 1st, 2001 at 04:05 PM]
|