View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2004, 07:56am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Kaliix
[B]Bob,
I take you at your word that this is the proper rule to use in the above instance.

For a newbie like myself, is there somewhere that I could refer that gives guidance on when 6.06 ends (in terms of the catcher catching the pitch) or is this just an accepted interpretation of the rules?

Any help would be appreciated.


Here are some quotes from J/R:

A. Catcher's Action: batter interference can only occur during a catcher's
(1) throw or try to throw to third, second, or first [or the mound] during a
pickoff, steal, [or return toss],
(2) fielding of a pitch (or throw if the pitcher has disengaged), or
(3) tag try at home during a suicide squeeze or steal.

1 A batter who does not become a runner may interfere with a player other than the catcher: (a) after a pitch goes past the catcher, such batter interferes with a subsequent
play on a runner at the plate (batter is treated as an "other teammate"- see p. 66),

Section VI: Interference by Another Teammate
This section involves interference by offensive team personnel other than the batter
during a pitch, batter-runner, runner, or base coach. Examples of "other teammates"
include:
(a) a batter after a pitch has gone past the catcher (such batter is no longer trying to
bat the pitch and is treated as an "other teammate" in a determination of whether
interference has occurred).


It is interference if "another teammate"
4.03d
(1) blatantly and avoidably hinders a fielder's try to field a fair or catchable batted
ball or thrown ball.

Examples:
2– R3. The 0-1 pitch goes wild past the catcher, and the batter stands back to signal his
teammate to run home. The ball ricochets sharply off the backstop, and the catcher is
able to retrieve it quickly, and tries to throw R3 out at home. The batter, seeing that his
teammate may now be thrown out, returns to the vicinity of the plate and knocks down
the throw just as the pitcher is about to receive it: the runner is out unless there were
two outs, in which case the batter is called out, and the run does not count.
Reply With Quote