Carl Childress (quoted)
I think what you're forgetting is the offense is not a part of the balk rule. What counts in the OBR is what -- and when -- the pitcher "does his thing." (my underline for emphasis)
__________________________________________________ _________
Again, Childress, this statement is totally wrong and utterly ludicrous as it applies to OBR (which has what the primary discussion of this thread has concerned itself with). The offense IS part of the balk rule whether you wish to accept it or ignore it. One needs merely to look at the Penalty portion of the rule to realize it. It is the continuing actions of the defense and offense that determine whether a balk will be enforced or ignored. Following your logic, because a pitcher delivers a pitch and is done completing his pitch (defensive portion complete), that would mean an umpire should declare "Time" as you profess? We all agree (hopefully) that this is not done because it also depends upon the continuing action of the offense---which, indeed, is therefore part of the balk rule. All may find it in the rules or NAPBL.
Your statement, however, is effectively true as it applies in Fed since it is an IMMEDIATE dead ball and the acts of the offense have no bearing whatsoever upon the enforcement of the balk.
__________________________________________________ _________
NAPBL 6.7 (quoted):
"... The ball becomes dead when the umpire calls "Time" following the call of balk, and the call of "Time" is to be made only when play stops." (my emphasis)
NAPBL 6.8 Penalty for Balk (quoted):
"Under Official Rule 8.05, the penalty for a balk shall be: The Ball is dead (when play stops), and each runner shall advance one base without liability to be put out unless the batter reaches first on an hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter, or otherwise and all other runners advance at least one base, in which case the play proceeds without reference to the balk.
Note that in cases where a pitcher balks and throws wild to a base or home plate, a runner or runners may advance beyond the base to which he is entitled at his own risk."
__________________________________________________ _______
Childress, you wish only to recognize the batter as an operative part of the offense. Please realize that the runner, too, is an opertative part of the offense.
Please note that NAPBL states in both sections that when play stops is when "Time" should be called by the umpire. It does not state to call "Time" in the middle of the play when only the defense has stopped, as professed by Childress (and in direct contradiction to the NAPBL).
Initial play presented by Rich F.:
PLAY: R1, outs irrelevant. R1 breaks for second just as F1 starts a pickoff move to first. Surprised by R1, F1 quickly fakes to first while engaged, but almost immediately turns and throws the ball into center field trying to retire R1 at second base.
SO IN SUMMARY :
---we have a play in progress
---F1 balks (play still in progress)
---F1 turns & throws ball to centerfield (play in progress)
---R1 continues to run (play in progress)
---NAPBL says do not call "Time" until "play stops"
---Childress kills play ? Why??
Now, Childress, what exactly is unclear regarding NAPBL and their statement "when play stops" that you don't understand and therefore must go to JEA to get "authortative opinion" to clarify?
Childress, I can agree with your interpretation in principle only because 99.9% of the time when the balk is declared by the umpire the players cease their action. The coaches don't know the rules that well and a veteran umpire can typically sell his knowledge of the rules on the field without a $$$$ithowse developing. Yes, Childress, even me, believe it or not.
Just my opinion,
Steve
Member
EWS
|